reemerging

Well, hello! It’s been a while since sugar cured has gotten some attention. Much as we aspired to maintain weekly posts during boards time, studying got the best of me in the last two weeks. But I’m happy to report that the gnarliness has come to an end and the blogging has resumed! In fond memory of the past six weeks, I’d like to share one of the best lunches I had during that time.

IMG_1507

Since I was studying at home, I had the luxury of preparing a fresh lunch every day. I welcomed that midday break as a time to shut off my left brain and ignite my right brain with culinary creativity. The concoctions were usually simple, but they recharged me both physically and mentally for the afternoon ahead.

IMG_1503

One of my favorite lunches was this avocado egg salad. In lieu of mayo, I mashed an avocado with lemon juice, salt, pepper. I added some sprigs of dill and a handful of torn spinach to the mix and then broke in medium-boiled eggs that were still a bit drippy in the center. Piled atop lightly toasted rye bread and adorned with ruby red tomato slices from my parents’ garden, this healthy and satisfying salad provided just the right nourishment that my mind and body needed. I hope this recipe provides you with the same.

IMG_1505

It’s good to be back!

Avocado Egg Salad

Serves 2

2 eggs

1 hass avocado

1 tbsp lemon juice

salt and pepper

a few sprigs chopped fresh dill (optional)

1 handful fresh spinach, torn into small pieces

Place eggs in a small pot and fill pot with water until the eggs are barely covered. Place over medium high heat and bring to a boil. Once boiling, cook for 7-8 minutes, depending on how soft/hard you like your yolk.

While eggs are cooking, mash avocado in a bowl with lemon juice, spinach, dill, and salt and pepper to taste. Once eggs are done, rinse them under cold water, peel them and add them to the avocado mixture. Mash until combined. Serve atop toasted bread with tomatoes or toppings of your choosing.

One thought on “reemerging

Leave a Reply

