a treat from my mom

I received a picture text from my mom a couple of weeks ago with the following image:

IMG_1307

I theorize that she was trying to simultaneously 1) impress me with her Pic Stitch-ing skills, 2) make me jealous that I wasn’t home to enjoy her cooking, and 3) subtly hint that these should be featured on the blog. Well, mom, you succeeded on all three of these measures!

My mom has been making these rosemary roasted cashews for the past few weeks for her and my dad using fresh rosemary from our garden. I had the good fortune of being home last weekend for my cousin’s wedding, and while I was there, I was able to snag the remains of a batch of these cashews. It’s probably a good thing that there weren’t too many left, because I could have easily eaten many cupfuls of these addictive, salty, sweet, and spicy nuts if given the opportunity. Thanks Mom for this great recipe and for raising me to believe that constantly reading about, talking about, and taking pictures of my food was perfectly normal.

My Mom’s Rosemary Roasted Cashews

She says:

I’m glad that you like them!  We do, too.  It’s kind of a typical me-recipe, a bit of this and that.  Based loosely upon the Barefoot Contessa roasted cashews with rosemary recipe, except–I use a little olive oil in place of butter,and a smaller amount of brown sugar.  I put a couple of cups of raw cashews on pan, bake at 375 about 10 minutes, stirring often (they brown quickly)  While they are toasting, I chop about 2 tbsp of fresh rosemary, add to small bowl with a little bit of ground red pepper, a teaspoon or so of brown sugar and a teaspoon or more of kosher salt. Stir in a little olive oil, a teaspoon or so. When nuts come out of the oven, toss immediately into seasoning, stir well to coat and then spread out on a cool plate or tray to cool and crisp. Add extra salt as needed, I always add extra salt! Enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

