the corn thing

Disclaimer: The use of canned corn in the following recipe is not endorsed by Kate Adkins nor any of her Iowa brethren.

Have you ever noticed that the first items to go at bake sales always seem to be the things that are the simplest to make? Puppy chow, funfetti cupcakes, brownies from a mix. As much as I love making things from scratch, there’s something to be said for finding convenient ways to appeal to the masses. The corn thing does just that. This concoction of canned corn, corn muffin mix, sour cream, and butter takes less than five minutes and zero cooking ability to put together, yet it has elicited a standing ovation from my family at Thanksgiving dinner (I kid you not) and multiple requests for the recipe post-consumption.

I’ve seen many iterations of this recipe around the internet with names such as “corn casserole” and “baked corn.” While these titles aptly describe the dish, my cousin Jason dubbed it “the corn thing” years ago, I believe when asking how many pans of “the corn thing” would be at Thanksgiving dinner (and staking claim to about half of a pan), and now I can call it by no other name. If you’re looking for a creamy, corny, crowd-pleasing side dish to add to your Thanksgiving spread, look no further than the corn thing.
Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family. Thank you for reading our blog and for inspiring me to be a more avid and creative cook!
The Corn Thing
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, melted
1 (8 oz) box Jiffy corn muffin mix
1 (14.75 oz) can creamed corn
1 (15 oz) can whole corn kernels, drained
2 eggs
8 oz. sour cream
1/4 cup sugar
Preheat oven to 350. Mix all ingredients together. Pour into 9×13 pan. Bake for 40-50 minutes, until slightly golden.
2 thoughts on “the corn thing

  1. This dish is soo good! I seriously wish Thanksgiving was more than once a year so I can eat it more often. Now that I have the recipe this is going to be my meal breakfast, lunch, and dinner… And for desert? Corn thing! Move over grandma, that last bit of corn thing is mine!

  2. This IS good – although you’d never know it by my name for it: Corn Mush. My uncle makes this for summer BBQs with bratwurst – I’ve never thought of doing it for holiday meals before! His calls for cream cheese instead of sour cream, and doesn’t call for sugar… maybe I’ll have to do a Corn Thing / Corn Mush bake off! 🙂

Leave a Reply

