baking up a storm

Miami decided to give me a little going away present: Tropical Storm Isaac. I could tell you I was annoyed that I had to spend my last weekend home cooped up inside our shuttered house. But that would be far from the truth. If I were still in grade school, I would have dubbed this the perfect storm: the kind that poses enough of a threat that school gets canceled and you have an excuse to stock up on “survival items” like dark chocolate at the grocery store, but at the end of the day, amounts to no more than some rain and wind. No floods. No damage. And no power outages. The latter of which afforded me the opportunity to have the oven going all day long.

Making this
 
And Peanut Butter & Jelly Bars, a dessert that takes this classic childhood combo to new heights.
And finally, chocolate chip cookies. Cookies are usually not at the top of my list of things to bake, mostly because I’m too impatient for all the waiting that goes into them. From waiting for butter to soften, to waiting for one batch to bake before putting the second, then third, then fourth into the oven, I usually opt for things that are less time-consuming (well, maybe that’s not entirely true). But this lazy, stormy day beckoned me to try out King Arthur Flour Company’s Essential Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie. King Arthur tends to be an authority on all things baking, and I’m glad I trusted their judgment here. I used big bittersweet chocolate chips and toffee bits for an extra deep brown sugar flavor. They were essentially delicious.
Don’t get me wrong, I’d never wish for a tropical storm or hurricane to come our way. But, I’m happy to report from the other side of this non-eventful system that I thoroughly savored the day.
Chase did too.
The Essential Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie (from The King Arthur Flour Cookie Companion)
3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter
2/3 cup dark brown sugar
2/3 cup granulated sugar
2 tbsp light corn syrup
1 tbsp cider vinegar or white vinegar
2 large eggs
1 tbsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
3 cups semisweet chocolate chips
Optional: 1 cup toffee bits or nuts
Preheat oven to 375. Line baking sheets with parchment paper. In mixing bowl, cream together butter, sugars, corn syrup, and vinegar. Add egg. Add vanilla, salt, baking powder, and baking soda. Fold in flour, chocolate chips, and any other additions. Drop tablespoon-size scoops of dough onto prepared baking sheets. Bake for 10 minutes (will look slightly underdone in center). Remove from oven and transfer to wire rack to cool.
Leave a Reply

