detox

I just came back from spending two days in Kansas City, which was a really lovely place to visit. It has a small-town feel, but there was plenty going on to enjoy during the day and night, and a surprisingly large number of beautiful fountains to see all around the city (fun fact: Kansas City is known as the City of Fountains). While the trip was short, I didn’t fail to take advantage of the Kansas City food scene, which, given its reputation as the barbecue capital of the world, is pretty darn meat-heavy. Although I’m a total omnivore, I typically eat meat only a couple times a week, so this two-day carnivorous marathon was a bit of a shock to my system, albeit a delicious one. Let’s just say between the grass-fed beef, lamb chops, ribs, and pulled pork, I think I satisfied my meat quota for the next month.
I arrived back in Chicago craving nothing more than a big salad. I didn’t think I had much to work with, but I was pleased to find a few fruits and vegetables in my fridge that I threw together to make a light and refreshing lunch with plenty of vitamins and a good dose of healthy fats. The perfect way to refresh and recharge.

Detox Salad

2 cups of kale, chopped

1/4 – 1/2 an avocado

1/2 apple, chopped

Handful of dried cranberries

Handful of sliced almonds

Juice of 1/2 lemon

2 tsp olive oil

Combine ingredients in a salad bowl. Toss well to coat in lemon juice and olive oil (it helps to use your hands to massage and soften the kale a bit). Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

