mangos + minnesota

Today was a very long day. I took the overnight bus home from Minneapolis and we managed to get delayed in the only 5:30 am stand-still traffic jam in the history of mankind. I was late for work because my trusty 172 bus changed to its annoying summer schedule. I planned an elaborate grocery list (pistachios! tarragon! arugala!) only to find, on my way home from work, that Hyde Park Produce was closed because of a freak power outage. But all was not lost because I came home and made a super-comforting dinner of scrambled eggs and pickles and the food currently topping the list of my favorite things on God’s green earth: homemade mango sorbet.

ImageExciting thing #1 that happened in the first week of summer: I bought an ice cream maker! I’d had my eye on it all year, and I decided to reward myself for finishing my first year with its purchase. I baptized this newest addition to my ever-growing small appliances menagerie with mango sorbet. There is not much to say about it except that it is sooooo darned good. It makes me want to go somewhere tropical (Miami friends, you must try this recipe with your famous mangos and report back). It makes me want to never buy Haagen-Dazs sorbet again (and that’s saying something). Keep reading for the recipe at the end of the post.

Exciting thing #2 that happened in the first week of summer: I went to Minneapolis. It is not exactly tropical, but it is home to a significant chunk of my heart and a good number of my favorite people in the world.

ImagePlease allow me to introduce you to the drink of the summer, Pimm’s Cup. These beauties were poured by my dear friend Anna, one ever-hip Madison-by-way-of-MN mixologist. All there is in the way of a recipe is: one part Pimm’s No. 1, 3 pars ginger ale, lots of ice, cucumber, strawberry, and lime. This way when you tire of mango sorbet, you can switch to Pimm’s Cup. In my dreams, that’s how summer goes, at least…

Image

In honor of Joanna’s amazing brunch post, I wanted to share the brunch that Jinai cooked for us on Sunday morning. Advice for a happy life: if you have an amateur chef friend with a rocking cappuccino machine in her kitchen, visit her often, even if it takes a miserable overnight bus ride to get home. This brunch alone was worth the sleep deprivation and smelly seatmates.

Image

The last meal of the weekend was noodle salad from Jasmine Deli, the best Vietnamese restaurant in Minneapolis and maybe in the world. I thought of ordering one to go (though then I would have the been the smelly seatmate). But I left it behind, up north, until next time and came home to a pretty good city that I call home and a big serving of mango sorbet left in my freezer. Not a bad trade.

Mango Sorbet

2-3 large, ripe mangos

2/3 c sugar

3/4 c water

1-2 T fresh lime or lemon juice

1-2 T rum (to taste)

Peel the mangos, remove the flesh from the pits, and chop roughly. Place mango plus all other ingredients in a blender or food processor. Squeeze the pits and skins over the bowl to get all the good juiciness out. Puree until the mixture is smooth. Taste and add more citrus or rum as desired. Chill for at least an hour in the fridge then process according to your ice cream maker’s instructions. Delicious when fresh but also keeps well in the freezer!

Image

One thought on “mangos + minnesota

  1. Pingback: the sweet part of the city (minneapolis edition) | sugar cured

Leave a Reply

